Select Page

Extraordinary session passes bill requiring settlement funds to be deposited in the general fund and not the common school fund

The package of legislation passed early the morning of Dec 5 in extraordinary session by the Wisconsin Legislature contains the language that would require that the Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ) to deposit all settlement funds into the general fund and further, that all unencumbered settlement funds that are currently in the DOJ appropriation would lapse into the general fund.

WASB and others asked lawmakers to remove that language based on our view that those funds are arguably constitutionally required to be deposited into the common school fund established by Wisconsin’s original state constitution.  Read more on our position here.  WASB is asking Governor Scott Walker to veto the bill that contained these provisions. See our veto letter here.

December advocacy tip: Lay the foundation for successful legislative advocacy

NOW is the time to get started on your advocacy efforts with your state legislators before the 2019-20 legislative session begins on January 7.  Make a friend before you need a friend!  For more tips and advice from WASB on advocacy, see the newly updated Legislative Advocacy Toolkit. Here are some things to consider for laying the groundwork for your advocacy plan: (more…)

Legislative leadership positions remain largely unchanged

The four legislative caucuses recently met to elect their leadership teams and, on the whole, there were not many changes from last session.

Lawmakers new to their leadership posts are marked *.

Senate Republicans re-elected Sen. Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) as Majority Leader and Sen. Roger Roth (R-Appleton) as President.  Sen. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills) returns as Senate Co-Chair of the budget-writing Joint Finance Committee (JFC).  Also elected to the Senate GOP leadership team are Sens.: (more…)

Current/Former School Board Members on Tuesday’s Primary Ballot

Several current school board members will be on the partisan primary ballot for various offices next Tuesday, August 14, 2018: Cathy Myers (Janesville) is running for the Democratic nomination for the 1st Congressional seat currently held by retiring U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan.

Kyle Whelton (Sheboygan Area) is running as a Democrat for the 9th district state Senate seat currently held by Sen. Devin LeMahieu (R-Oostburg).

Linda Boucher (Elmbrook), Timothy Ramthun (Kewaskum), and Robert Wittke (Racine Unified), all Republicans, are running to be their party’s nominee for the state Assembly in the 14th, 59th and 62nd Assembly districts, respectively. Each of those seats is vacant due to the incumbent either retiring or running for higher office.  Finally, Wendy Sue Johnson (former Eau Claire Area board member) is running as a Democrat for the vacant 68th Assembly district.  If we have missed anyone please let us know! (more…)

Special election: Democrats flip state Senate seat; GOP retains Assembly seat

The results of Tuesday’s special election are in: Democrat Caleb Frostman defeated Rep. Andre Jacque (R-De Pere) for the 1st Senate District seat vacated by former Sen. Frank Lasee (R).  Republican Jon Plumer defeated Ann Groves Lloyd for the 42nd Assembly seat vacated by former Rep. Keith Ripp (R). They will hold office until they run again for the same seats this November. Whoever wins in November will take office in January 2019. Both seats were vacated when Lasee and Ripp took jobs with Gov. Walker’s administration.  (more…)